Reviews

New, clean, stylish, it had everything we could want and was a great base from which to do all sorts of fun things for the family… Hurrah for North Farm, it made a great holiday and we hope to come again.

We have worked hard to make the Cottages and the Shepherd's Hut lovely places to come on holiday and it seems that our guests agree. Jump further down the page to the see the Shepherd's Hut reviews.

Reviews of Barn Owl and Kingfisher Cottages

2021

Cottages and surroundings are beautiful and well-supplied, the beds are comfortable and the rooms are spacious. We've enjoyed Blickling Hall, Mundesley beach (depite thurderstorms) and fantastic meals. We've especially appreciated the welcome from Gill and David. July 2021

The Barn was definitely one of the nicest places we have rented; it was really well-equipped, comfortable and spotlessly clean. The goodies left for us on arrival were much appreciated too. July 2021

We had a marvellous holiday at North Farm. The cottages were so well equipped, spacious and comfortable, and Jill and David so hospitable. There are lots of places to visit within a half hour drive. Wonderful for children and nature lovers. July 2021

Plenty to do nearby and excellent accommodation. The owners are kind and friendly and involved our children in fun things on the farm. June 2021

Every detail seems to have been thought about to make the stay easy, especially with the children and dog. And we loved the quirky and original pottery. June 2021

We had a wonderful stay. The cottage is perfect for a young family. The host was so kind and attentive. We will definitely go back! June 2021

A beautiful location. Really well thought out for the children- they loved the toys provided and had such a great time. Location was great for nearby beaches and tourist attractions in the area like the Bure Valley Railway. June 2021

Another restorative stay at North Farm. We had a fantastic time. May 2021

Amazing place for us and our young kids. Kitchen is well-equipped which made things so much easier. May 2021

Particularly great is how well it is set up for children, we really appreciate all the toys and books and the chance to see and feed the chickens. The living space is very comfortable and the kitchen well-equipped. April 2021 

2020

The cottage is beautiful, immaculate and very well-designed and kitted out for both long and short stays.  August 2020

The accommodation is comfortable and spacious and the garden area attached very convenient and stocked with toys for young children. The setting is well placed for all the attractions and areas of beauty in Norfolk. A fabulous family orientated hub for a wonderfully relaxing break. October 2020

We love coming here for many reasons but the main one is how welcome we are made to feel, how everything has been thought about. We don't have to worry about whether the children will be safe or have enough to occupy them as everything is here in a secure location. October 2020

Fantastic place to stay. Idyllic setting. Lovely hosts. The cottage was great and had everything and more for staying with our young family. September 2020

Beautiful surroundings and very well-equipped cottage! Also enjoyed looking at the pottery. September 2020

Facilities excellent and a great location for exploring the broads and coast. Beautifully clean cottage, extremely comfortable beds, cosy and warm in the evenings, lots of thoughtful touches. September 2020

Cottage is perfect. Beds are super comfy and enclosed garden and toys are spot on for the children. August 2020

The cottage is so quiet and comfortable and had an amazing array of toys and boy for our toddler. We loved exploring the area and the cottage is in a perfect location. August 2020

A home from home. We loved our daily visits to see the chickens, cows and your neighbour's sheep. Many memories made and we hope to return. August 2020

Very comfortable and well stocked. Convenient to get to most places in Norfolk. Veyr tranquil setting. Fresh air and a break from citylife. July 2020

Our stay was made by the lovely enclosed garden for our daughter to play in and explore. The garden toys and bikes were fantastic and a great treat. We had a wonderful stay, Kingfisher barn is bright, open and peaceful. July 2020

Barn Owl Cottage is just simply idyllic and the eco-cottage has everything you could possibly need which made our stay super easy and enjoyable. The private garden was kitted out with play equipment for my two young children and the kids enjoyed feeding the chickens and loved eating cherries from the tree too.

Such a wonderful place to get away from it all, country walks and riverside picnics in nearby Oxnead as well as picking up some lovely handmade things in the pottery studio on site. Simply delightful! Keyworkers during the Covid crisis, June 2020 

Such a great location to go exploring and close enough to get to the coast. Thank you for making a last minute trip so effortless.April 2020

Kingfisher cottage was spotless, comfortable and very well equipped, even down to washing detergent and dishwasher tabs. The washing machine and tumble dryer meant that I didn't come home with a mountain of washing to do which was nice! They provided a cot, highchair and toys which made packing for a family of 5 so much easier! Gill was lovely and ever so helpful. The children loved saving our scraps to feed to the chickens, and Gill let them keep the eggs they had laid on the morning we fed them which they thought was really special. 

The cottage is in such a great location, with so many things to do in the local area. We visited Blickling Hall, Felbrigg Hall, Cromer, Norwich, Amazona Zoo,and 2 soft play areas, all of which were just a short drive away. February 2020

Wonderful stay. Cottage very accessible and toddler/baby-friendly and the egg hunt was a delight. January 2020

2019

“As soon as I arrived at North Farm, I knew it was going to be the perfect get-away. Far removed from busy roads, and residential areas. This place is situated amongst grassy fields and beautiful meadows. The farm grounds are utterly charming.”

We don’t really want to tell anyone else about this. We want to keep it our special place... but I know these lovely people need other people to stay as well so all I will say is it’s the best place we have stayed. September 2019

A lovely setting and exceptionally well-equipped and furnished cottages. August 2019

Fabulous. All of us were amazed by the local/facilities/homeliness. Better than we could have dreamed. August 2019

Idyllic, perfect location to explore areas on Norfolk. Everything was provided and catered for which made for a very relaxing few days. June 2019

Thanks for a lovely stay - baby equipment and toys were so useful. A very relaxing holiday (well, as relaxing as any holiday is with 3 children)!! May 2019

A lovely, quiet location, well-equipped cottage and a lovely welcome hamper. Flick is quick to respond, helpful and makes sure that the cottage is set up as well as it can be for your needs. April 2019

“I don’t think we’ve ever rented such a comfortable and well-equipped cottage before, and we’ve been to quite a few! We really enjoyed the peace, quiet and space, as well as watching the Barn Owl fly to an fro and feed its young."

Reviews of the Shepherd's Hut

This hut is absolutely charming. We wished for a “get away from it all” break and it couldn’t have been better. We didn’t want to leave, but after some freshly cooked eggs (which we were able to purchase from our host) we said our farewells and I have an inkling that we may be back…

2021

Having access to a fridge, toilet and shower nearby was great. The hut itself was very comfortable to sleep in and was a perfect base from which to explore the Broads. June 2021

2020

Beautiful location, very nice private bathroom and kitchen space. Lovely hosts. Equipment provided was fantastic e.g chairs and table for outdoors as well as a BBQ. August 2020

The owners were so kind. Hut was very clean and everything was ready for us. We had an absolute ball of a time. August 2020

A perfect break after lockdown. We loved seeing the barn owl on an evening, strolling round the garden and watching the vegetables grow. A perfect combination of cooking and sitting outside and comfortable and cosy space inside - ideal camping. July 2020

The peacefulness and natural beauty have been most restorative.